CLU to Host NCAA Volleyball Regional

CLU to Host NCAA Volleyball Regional

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - Announced this morning by the NCAA Division III Volleyball Committee, Cal Lutheran, was selected as a Regional host for the 2014 NCAA Division III Volleyball Championships scheduled from Friday to Sunday, Nov. 14-16 at eight sites across the country.

The 64-team field is comprised of selections from Pool A (automatic qualifications (AQ) from a conference), B (independent schools and school that are members of conferences that do not meet the requirements for automatic qualification) and C (schools from AQ conferences that were not the conference champion and any remaining Pool B teams). This year 44 conferences earned automatic qualification while Pool B garnered two selections with the remaining 20 berths reserved for Pool C teams.

Also announced by the women's volleyball committee were the other seven regional host schools and sites: Carthage (Kenosha, Wisc.); Christopher Newport (Newport News, Va.), St. Thomas (Saint Paul, Minn.); Stevens (Hoboken, N.J.); Washington-St. Louis (St. Louis, Mo.); Williams (Williamstown, Ma.) and Wittenberg (Springfield, Ohio). Both St. Thomas and Williams

­­Regional competition will take place on Friday-Sunday, Nov. 14-16, at all host sites except Carthage, St. Thomas and Wittenberg, which has competition slated for Thursday-Saturday, Nov. 13-15.

After being snubbed a chance to host in 2013 following an undefeated Division III record at 30-0 entering the playoffs, NCAA competition returns to the Gilbert Arena this fall.

"We are thrilled and honored to have been chosen to host a regional this year," head coach Kellee Roesel shared. "I am extremely confident in our staff and am excited to be hosting again."

The Regals are excited about the opportunity to play on their home court.

"My team is fired up," Roesel went on, "Any time you get a chance to play in front of a home crowd it is a special thing and the team is excited and looking forward to it."

American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) No. 3 Cal Lutheran (28-2) was crowned the Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference (SCIAC) and SCIAC Post Season Tournament champions, for the third straight season, to claim the AQ. The host school returns to the NCAA Championships for the 15th time in program history and seventh straight season. CLU has earned five consecutive SCIAC titles and in 2014 clinched their third SCIAC Postseason Tournament title to earn the AQ. The Regals have been ranked among the top-6 in the nation all season.

Joining CLU in the Playoffs is another pair of other league opponents as No. 18 Claremont-Mudd-Scripps (24-6) and No. 25 La Verne (20-6) garnered Pool C berths and will both return to Cal Lutheran to compete on the national stage. CLU defeated CMS 3-0 in the SCIAC Postseason Championship and La Verne finished third. The Leopards have been to 25 NCAA Tournaments with a pair of national titles (1982, 2001) while the Athenas have been selected six times.

The remaining five teams in the Thousand Oaks, Calif. bracket hail from three different states.

Representing the Northwest Conference (NWC) after earning a share of the NWC title with 14-2 league marks are Pacific Lutheran (21-4) and Whitworth (21-5). The WU Pirates earned the AQ based on tiebreakers while PLU garnered a Pool C selection. Pacific Lutheran and Whitworth make their 10th and sixth, NCAA appearance in 2014, respectively.

From the great state of Texas, both the University of Mary Hardin-Baylor (25-5) and Trinity (28-9) will travel west. UMHB makes a second straight NCAA appearance after defeating UT-Dallas 3-1 to become the American Southwest Conference (ASC) Championship for the league's AQ. TU also earned an automatic bid after capturing its second straight, 17th overall, Southern Collegiate Athletic Conference (SCAC) Championship with a 3-0 victory over Southwestern (Tex.). The Tigers will be playing the tournament for the 21st time this fall.

Colorado College (29-8) rounds out the field with a Pool C bid, marking the 25th NCAA selection in program history.

On Friday, Nov. 14 four matches will be played at the Gilbert Arena beginning at 12:30 p.m. when Pacific Lutheran and Colorado College meet on the court. At 3:00 p.m. Claremont-Mudd-Scripps and Mary Hardin-Baylor will play followed by Trinity and La Verne facing off at 5:30 p.m. Host Cal Lutheran and Whitworth wrap up the day at 8:00 p.m. All times listed are Pacific Standard Time (PST).

The winners of the CC/PLU and CMS/UMHB matches will play on Saturday, Nov. 15 at 3:30 p.m. followed by the winners of the CLU/WU and LV/TU matches at 6:00 p.m.

On Sunday, Nov. 16, the two remaining teams will play in the Regional final at 2:00 p.m.

The champion of the Thousand Oaks, Calif. Regional will advance to Newport News, Va. to play for a National Title Nov. 21-23, hosted by Christopher Newport University at the Freeman Center.

Tickets will be sold at the following per-day (all matches) prices: $10 (adults), $5 (students/senior citizens/military), FREE (under 2) at the main entrance of the Gilbert Arena. Merchandise will also be sold at the venue.

Tournament Central: 2014 NCAA Division III Volleyball Tournament
Release: 2014 NCAA Division III Volleyball Tournament Release
Bracket: 2014 NCAA Division III Volleyball Tournament Bracket
Live Stats:
All Matches
Live Video:
All Matches
CLU Twitter:
Follow Coach Roesel: @CoachRoesel
Follow Allie:
CLU Facebook:
CLU Instagram: