Inside Athletics



Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference

The Southern California Intercollegiate Athletic Conference was formed in 1915 when five Southern California institutions combined for the purpose of promoting and governing competition in intercollegiate sports with the fundamental principle of the conference being to encourage the highest ideals of amateur sports in an environment of high academic standards.

While the mission of the conference has remained intact since the beginning, the membership has varied over the years, but now stands at eight (since 1991). The five original SCIAC schools are still members: California Institute of Technology, Occidental College, Pomona College, University of Redlands, and Whittier College. They have since been joined by California Lutheran University, Chapman University, Claremont-Mudd-Scripps Colleges, and University of La Verne to comprise the current membership. (Pomona College now has become Pomona-Pitzer Colleges for athletics.)

Jennifer Dubow
SCIAC Executive Director 
(626) 993.6807